Eos ( Me and Greek mythology part 3 of 7)

Eos, (Greek), Roman Aurora, in Greco-Roman mythology, the personification of
the dawn. According to the Greek poet Hesiod, she was the daughter of
the Titan Hyperion and the Titaness Theia and sister of Helios, the sun god,
and Selene, the moon goddess. I first read about her in “ The Greek Myths” by Robert graves in the myth called “ Eos”. It is a myth (it’s not the only one like that I know) makes gods look much like mortal humans who need to pay for their actions. In this case, I am talking about Eos being punished by Aphrodite for giving Ares opportunity to cheat on Aphrodite. I feel that additionally to the point I have made above, there is something else to that story. I feel like sometimes for people to act and change something there need to be something substantial to happen (at least that’s what’s once in a long while has to happen to me). I think that Ares cheating on Aphrodite has made her feel something that has more ‘applications’ than just lust for someone. I think the fact that she punished Eos is proof that she was jealous for Ares. It’s probably not the first time. But in this story, I feel like Eos is humanly embodiment of that once in a while thing I have talked about.

 

 

_DSC6528
Styled and shot by: @maverick_image , Model: @sassmia

 

The shoot has been heavily inspired by Eos being a personification of dawn. I have always felt there some sort of mysterious softness and magic attached to dawn. As it might be obvious those two things, have been main things we wanted to include in the pictures. (Of course alongside showing who Eos was, in most appropriate way, at least to us). Maybe I feel dawn is magical because I usually like to sleep around 12 hours and usually wake up around 10 am.

 

_DSC7668
Styled and shoot by: @maverick_image, Model: Stella Udeh

 

This piece isn’t about science. But I think it’s fascinating how the amount of atmosphere and angle of light shining on our planet, affects how the light looks.

 

 

_DSC7753
Styled and shoot by : @maverick_image, Model: Stella Udeh

 

It has been fairly simple, but at the end of the day, we didn’t want to over-complicate it.

_DSC6506
Styled and shoot by @maverick_image , Model: @sassmia

 

 

_DSC6520
Styled and shoot by: @maverick_image , Model: @sassmia

 

 

Leave a Reply

