[NSFW] Aphrodite ( Greek mythology and me part 7 of 7)

_DSC9058

I do understand that there is a good reason why among other things, she is a goddess of love. But (as much as sex is something natural) I believe (based on the myth called “Aphrodite’s nature and deeds” ) that there are people who would think, that in human terms, she would be close to being a nymphomaniac. As I explain later on, at the beginning I was one of those people. But I will get back to that later.

_DSC8666

Furthermore, she was enormously jealous of Adonis and to keep his attention she had sex and become pregnant with another guy. (which after reading more about her and thinking about the stories, shouldn’t be a surprise.) In the myth, I have mentioned it said she was given one job, which was to make love.  Yes, I know that was her main job given to her by other goddess. But I feel like that maybe as we can see in other myths that if gods wanted something then like in the case of Zeus they could at least have a go at changing things. But on the other maybe her nymphomaniac nature was her way of rebelling against other gods’ decision. e reason why I suspect that is because she was made to marry Hephaestus. So maybe the number of lovers she had was her way of getting sort of freedom she wanted.

_DSC9030

While doing this shoot we really wanted to make it a fusion between art and the things I have mentioned before. Some of the pictures might be slightly on the line. Due to her many activities, it was our aim to show in some way that she was not just having sex all the time.

_DSC8865

Yes, when I was doing research on her I was feeling like she has been close to being a nymphomaniac. But as I have been investing more and more time into her, my opinions about her changed. Of course, whatever we do, we can’t forget her sex life, as that was her main job, given to her by other gods. But, with time I have started to feel that there is more to her than just her having pleasure-time, but as people who have been interested in Greek mythology will know, she would use cheating to get men she loved to be interested in her again.

_DSC8679

After I have started to put more thought into it, I felt like there is a human side to Aphrodite. When I got through some of the surface stuff, I have reminded myself that everyone reacts to things differently. I have made a connection between Aphrodite and humans because we as humans need to be shown affection from time to time.

_DSC9317

For the shoot, we didn’t want to change her characteristics, at the same time we weren’t up for trying to do a too erotic shoot. But it felt right to include some nudity. As for the shaky images, I find it amazing that there are many things that human eye can see in them. (At least in my opinion). Through that, we wanted to portray more sides to Aphrodite, than just the sexual side.

_DSC8790

Does it make sense? If you have any questions then don’t hesitate to drop us a message.

See you next time.

Leave a Reply

