Romance and attraction ( sexuality through the lens part 4 of 7)

In very general terms most likely a lot of people are looking for some sort of romantic relationship. Well, of course, there is some exception. Something that I had never realized that these ‘exceptions’ would involve A-romantic people. I have no idea how to explain but it just didn’t cross my mind before. Is it just about growing up and learning? Maybe. But for a long time, I have believed that romantic and sexual attractions have been more connected.

_DSC6192

Additionally, for a long time, I have believed that romantic and sexual attractions have been more connected. What I mean is I believe that they were much more connected. But it turned out I was completely wrong. They are separate things.

Should it have been more obvious to me? Now it feels like it should. But maybe I will take some things less for granted. What I have discovered is that people can be a-romantic, a-sexual, both or neither.

_DSC5697

After doing background reading it made me feel like what I have come across I felt stupid for not being 100% aware of the things I have mentioned. Especially since for a good while I have been considering myself as A-sexual, but for as long as I can remember I have felt a need for romantic relationship/s.

Something that I have been attracted to is love that would be called “Compassionate Love”. At least that’s what I think. It has been “characterized by mutual respect, attachment, affection, and trust. Compassionate love usually develops out of feelings of mutual understanding and shared respect for one another.” (1) And  ‘Passionate Love’ characterized by e.g. sexual attraction and intense emotions.

 

_DSC6266

 

_DSC6287

 

_DSC5782

_DSC6061

_DSC6397

_DSC5911

_DSC5905

_DSC5934

_DSC6345

_DSC5645

Shot and styled by @maverick_image

Model: Leah N

  1. https://www.verywell.com/theories-of-love-2795341
Leave a Reply

